Easy Nature and Historic Walks in Brynmawr
Book A guided Tour
Make Every moment of your visit count.
Book a guided walk with Kevin Walker.
Call Kevin on
Parish Roads Walk
Uphill walking, over moorland and some stoney pathways walking part of the Brynmawr to Crickhowell Old Parish Rd.
Strong walking shoes essential and suitable clothing.
Brynmawr Patches Walk
"The Patches" above the town are the remnants of Brynmawr's mining history where shafts were dug into the sides of the hills to extract coal and iron. The Crawshay Bailey Trail is a 5.5 mile/9k walk that should take about 2 hours taking in the industrial heritage of Brynmawr including the Patches – old iron and coal workings.
Parc Nant Y Waun walk (Green Flag Award Winner)
A stroll along the Local Nature Reserve grasslands, ponds, and tram roads built between 1793 and 1833, to transport coal and iron ore from Nantyglo Ironworks.The Kendall Trail is a 3.5 mile/6k walk that should take about 1.5 hours taking in the industrial heritage of Beaufort and Parc Nant y Waun.
Click the Blaenau Gwent or Ebbwfack links below, to download a Trail leaflet. Alternatively, pick a leaflet from The Talisman pub, or The Lounge café, located at the Market Square Brynmawr. You may want to pop into Beaufort Street for refreshments in one of the many cafes before or after your walk.
Ebbw Fach Trail
THE ULTIMATE TRAIL TO DISCOVER OUR INDUSTRIAL PAST AND OUR BIODIVERSITY
A 16 Kilometer Trail Linking the key towns at the heart of the Coal and Iron. The trail features exciting historic relics, Rivers and Woodlands. It links together a total of 14 green spaces. Access is excellent complete with stop over points and Audio contact facilities. For detailed information on the trail, please visit the Ebbw Fach website.
NANTYGLO ROUND HOUSE
A unique relic of the Industrial Revolution, built in 1816 by Joseph and Crawshay Bailey, the Ironmasters of the Nantyglo Ironworks, as a refuge against armed revolt by their workforce.
OTHER HISTORIC INTERESTS ON THE TRAIL:
The Guardian - The largest Mining disaster Memorial in Wales
The ruins of the Clydach Iron Works near Brynmawr, including the The old Hafod arch built by Thomas Johnes of Hafod in 1810 to mark the Golden Jubilee of George III
St Illtyd church, a 13th century building generally believed to have been built by Cistercian monks from Llantarnam
THE CWMTILLERY LAKE
regarded as one of the ‘jewels in the crown’, in Blaenau Gwent, is a haven to a variety of wildlife including wildfowl. A wonderful gateway to the cultural and natural riches further up the Tyleri Valley and over towards the World Heritage site at Blaenafon
OTHER WATER SPACES ON THE TRAIL
The Boat Ponds in the Beaufort hills - two former rand the mire and swamp communities surround
Cwmcelyn Pond - remains of an old colliery feeder pond, transformed into a recreational site
The Machine Pond - Features an angling Club and is popular for Fishing and walks.
DUFFRYN RIVER WALK
A riverside walk which has seating and lovely stone engravings.
OTHER WOODLAND SPACES ON THE TRAIL
Cwmcelyn Woodlands _ woodland surrounding the Cwmcelyn Pond
Roseheyworth Woodlands - 25 hectares on the East side of the Ebbw Fach Valley
Parc Areal Griffin - A popular walk surrounding the Guardian mining disaster memorial.
Popular Walks less than 30 minutes from Brynmawr
SUGAR LOAF MOUNTAIN
The Sugar Loaf dominates the skyline to the north of Abergavenny and is only a relatively short walk from the centre of town. The hill can be approached from a number of different directions but all paths lead to the summit which offers a breath-taking view of Abergavenny and the hills of the Black Mountains.